Rep. Newhouse Announces Subcommittee Assignments on House Agriculture Committee

January 28, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Dan Newhouse (R-WA) released the following statement after being assigned to serve on subcommittees for the House Committee on Agriculture, chaired by Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX). Rep. Newhouse will serve on the Subcommittee on Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Research and the Subcommittee on Livestock and Foreign Agriculture.

“As a third-generation farmer, I have experienced firsthand how important agricultural issues are for families, jobs, and trade in Central Washington,” said Rep. Newhouse. “Our growers are proud to produce and sell high-quality agricultural products to domestic and international markets. I look forward to serving on the Committee, and I am committed to advocating for policies that promote our region’s agricultural abundance and the economic opportunity it brings to Central Washington families.”

The Subcommittee on Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Research has jurisdiction over fruits, vegetables, organic agriculture, pesticides, quarantines, and the adulteration of seeds and insect pests. The Subcommittee also has jurisdiction over research and education, marketing and promotion orders, assisting foreign agriculture, and trade promotion programs, generally.

The Subcommittee on Livestock and Foreign Agriculture has jurisdiction over livestock, dairy, poultry, meat, and seafood as well as the inspection, marketing and promotion of those items. The Subcommittee also oversees aquaculture, the welfare of animals and their grazing activities, rural development, farm security and family farming, and agricultural credit. 

Earlier this month, Rep. Newhouse was selected as Vice-Chairman of the Energy Subcommittee for the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology, where he also sits on the Environment Subcommittee. Rep. Newhouse also sits on the House Natural Resources Committee, where he was assigned to the Subcommittee on Federal Lands and the Subcommittee on Water, Power and Oceans.