Newhouse Announces FEMA Funding for Firefighters in Central Washington

September 8, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA) announced that the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has awarded over $515,000 to Okanogan County Fire District 6 in Twisp and Douglas County through the Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Program. These funds will be used to improve operations and safety for the local fire departments.

“Our firefighters are working under immensely dangerous and difficult conditions throughout our district in what is shaping up to be a landmark fire season. These grants will enable them to continue their critical work,” said Rep. Newhouse. “Our first responders are heroes, and it’s imperative we ensure they stay safe and have the tools they need to continue protecting our communities.”

Individual Grant Awards:

  • Okanogan County Fire District 6 will receive $244,150.17 for operations and safety.              
  • Douglas County will receive $271,472 for operations and safety.


The purpose of the AFG Program is to award grants directly to fire departments, nonaffiliated Emergency Medical Services (EMS) organizations, and state fire training academies to enhance their ability to protect the health and safety of the public, as well as that of first-responder personnel. Using a competitive process that is informed by fire service subject-matter experts, grants are awarded to applicants whose requests best address the priorities of the AFG Program. You can read more about the AFG Program here.