Newhouse Assigned to Bipartisan Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress

February 8, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Dan Newhouse (R-WA) announced that he has been appointed by House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) to serve on the bipartisan Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress. The Select Committee was established at the start of the 116th Congress to hold hearings and study ways to improve and modernize the operation of Congress.

“I look forward to this opportunity to work in a bipartisan manner to find substantive ways to improve the legislative branch, designed by our Founders to be the closest and most responsive to We the People,” said Rep. Newhouse. “I am grateful to Leader McCarthy for this appointment, and I look forward to serving on the Committee with fellow Washingtonians, Chairman Derek Kilmer and Congresswoman Suzan DelBene.”

Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA): “I am proud to name Congressman Dan Newhouse to serve on the House Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress. Dan’s dedication to an efficient, effective, and accountable government will contribute to this effort as the committee looks to bring the House of Representatives into the 21st century.”

According to Title II of the 116th Congress House rules package which established the Select Committee, “the sole authority of the Select Committee shall be to investigate, study, make findings, hold public hearings, and develop recommendations on modernizing Congress, including recommendations on—

  • rules to promote a more modern and efficient Congress;
  • procedures, including the schedule and calendar;
  • policies to develop the next generation of leaders;
  • staff recruitment, diversity, retention, and compensation and benefits;
  • administrative efficiencies, including purchasing, travel, outside services, and shared administrative staff;
  • technology and innovation; and
  • the work of the House Commission on Congressional Mailing Standards.

Rep. Newhouse also serves on the House Appropriations Committee, which exercises jurisdiction over all federal discretionary spending.