Newhouse Statement on Selection of Port Performance Working Group Members

June 15, 2016
Press Release
Working group charged with providing nationally-consistent measures of port performance

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Representative Dan Newhouse (R-WA) released the following statement on the formation of the Port Performance Working Group. The Port Performance Working Group was created after an amendment that was offered by Rep. Newhouse and Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR) to H.R. 22, Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act), was signed into law in December, 2015. Rep. Newhouse and Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR) included the Port Performance Program within the FAST Act to require the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) to collect and report port statistics which will then be published in an annual report by BTS. The Port Performance Working Group will make recommendations to BTS to determine specific port metrics. The working group includes government officials and representatives from labor and industry, with the final decision on metrics resting with the BTS Director.

“Improving port metrics by requiring objective baseline economic information is critical for an accurate picture of port operations and to prevent another disastrous port slowdown,” said Rep. Newhouse. “The selection of these diverse members from a range of port users and relevant agencies to the Port Performance Working Group as required by the FAST Act is an important step of progress toward providing much-needed port statistics. I was pleased to lead this effort, and I will continue to work to ensure our ports are working effectively. ”

Port Performance Freight Statistics Working Group Members:


David Adams, U.S. Maritime Alliance, Ltd.

Jonathan, Berkson U.S. Coast Guard

Lauren Brand, Maritime Administration

Kevin Brubaker, Environmental Law and Policy Center

Dennis Daggett, International Longshoremen's Association

Rick Gabrielson, Lowe’s Companies, Inc.

Manuel Garza, U.S. Customs and Border Protection

John Giorgis, Federal Transit Administration

John Gray, Association of American Railroads

Roger Guenther, Port of Houston, TX

Randy Iwasaki, Contra Costa (CA) Transportation Authority

Paul C. LaMarre, III, Port of Monroe, MI

Michael Lestingi, Federal Railroad Administration

Michelle Livingstone, Home Depot

Luis Loarte, Federal Aviation Administration

Andrew Lynn, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Mike Mabry, Lowe’s Companies, Inc. (Retired)

Don Marcus, International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots, ILA/AFL-CIO

Ned Mitchell, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Jeffrey Pavlak, Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO

Michael Podue, International Longshore and Warehouse Union

Fred Potter, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Caitlin Rayman, Federal Highway Administration

Darrell Ruban, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

Eugene Seroka, Port of Los Angeles, CA

Mindy Shalaby, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration

Thomas Wakeman, III, Stevens Institute of Technology

Curtis Whalen, American Trucking Associations

Bill Wiatrowski, Bureau of Labor Statistics

Dennis Wilmsmeyer, America’s Central Port (Granite City, IL)

Tyler Wood, Federal Maritime Commission

Rebecca Yackley, Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation

Allison Yoh, Port of Long Beach, CA



The Port Performance Program within the FAST Act created the following requirements:

  • The BTS Director must submit a report on port capacity and throughput no later than January 15th of each year;
  • The annual report must cover, at a minimum, the top 25 ports in the nation by tonnage, containers, and dry bulk;
  • The working group members must submit their recommendations to the BTS Director within one year of enactment of the bill.

For a summary of the Port Performance Program, click here.